Content to start

The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts Confers Honorary Doctorates and Honorary Fellowships

01 November 2018 Category : General

The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (the Academy) today (1 November) has conferred honorary awards on five outstanding individuals for their achievements and contributions to the performing arts and cultural industry and also the development of the Academy. The ceremony was officiated by the Chief Secretary for Administration of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region The Hon Matthew Cheung Kin-chung GBM GBS JP.


Recipients of Doctorate of the Academy honoris causa:

Mrs Rita Tong Liu SBS
Mr Yu Long


Recipients of Honorary Fellowship:

Mr Gao Guangjian
Dr Peter Viem Kwok JP
Mr Lau Kin-wing



Photo Caption:

Honorary Doctorates Mrs Rita Liu (middle) and Mr Yu Long (2nd from right) together with Honorary Fellows Mr Lau Kin-wing (1st from left), Dr Peter Kwok (2nd from left) and Mr Gao Guangjian (1st from right). 







Photo Caption: 

The Chief Secretary for Administration for the HKSAR Government, The Hon Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, officiates at the Academy’s Honorary Awards Ceremony 2018.



About The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (HKAPA) (

The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, established by Government Ordinance in 1984, is a leading tertiary institution in performing arts in Asia. It provides professional undergraduate education and practice-based postgraduate studies. The study encompasses Chinese Opera, Dance, Drama, Film and Television, Music and Theatre and Entertainment Arts. Its educational philosophy reflects the cultural diversity of Hong Kong with emphasis on Chinese and Western traditions, and interdisciplinary learning.